Ole Miss QB Eli Manning Receives 2004 Socrates Award

Detroit, MI - As the official radio partner and a returning sponsor of the March of Dimes National Athletic Awards, Sporting News Radio presented the fifth annual Socrates Award to Eli Manning of Mississippi. The Sporting News Radio Socrates Award is given to a college athlete who best embodies the Socrates Creed "mens sana in corpore sano" or "a strong mind in a strong body."

Manning was chosen by Sporting News Radio listeners and members of the Sporting News Radio Socrates Award panel based on his outstanding athletic and academic achievements, as well as community service. He succeeds the 2003 Socrates Award winner, Craig Krenzel of Ohio State University; 2002 Socrates Award winner, André Davis of Virginia Tech and the Cleveland Browns; 2001 Socrates Award winner, Ben Hamilton of the University of Minnesota and Denver Broncos; and the 2000 Socrates Award winner, Drew Brees of Purdue University and San Diego Chargers.

Manning has compiled a remarkable record as a student athlete at Ole Miss. His accomplishments both on and off the field exemplify outstanding character, leadership, academic excellence and community involvement. While at Ole Miss, Manning has been involved with the CHAMPS Life Skills program, "NCAA Stay in School" programs, "Christmas with Cancer" and several elementary school programs and senior citizens programs. Manning graduated in December 2003 with a degree in Marketing and has made the Chancellor's Honor Roll, Dean's Honor Roll, U.M.A.A Honor Roll and SEC Honor Roll while at Ole Miss. He was selected to receive the 2003 National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame Scholar Athlete Award. On the football field, Manning holds 45 Ole Miss single-game, season and career record, ranks first in career passing attempts and fourth in SEC history, with 788 career completions, and 9,800 passing yards. He ranks first on the Ole Miss career list in both categories.

Other finalists for the 2004 Socrates Award included: Nick Brown, kicker, TCU; Alvin Cowan , quarterback, Yale; Nate Kaeding, kicker, Iowa; Vanessa Pruzinsky, soccer; Notre Dame; Rodney Reed, offensive tackle, LSU; John Standeford, wide receiver, Purdue; and Jordan Walker, soccer, North Carolina.

The 2004 Socrates Award Nominees

Name School Sport(s) GPA Bio
Nick Browne TCU Football 3.97 Full Bio
Alvin Cowan Yale Football 3.43 Full Bio
Nate Kaeding Iowa Football 3.48 Full Bio
Eli Manning Mississippi Football 3.41 Full Bio
Vanessa Pruzinsky Notre Dame Women's Soccer 4.00 Full Bio
Rodney Reed LSU Football 3.90 Full Bio
John Standeford Purdue Football 3.65 Full Bio
Jordan Walker North Carolina Women's Soccer 3.69 Full Bio

The 2004 Socrates Award

Ohio State quarterback Craig Krenzel was the winner of the 2003 Sporting News Radio Socrates Award.

Sporting News Radio, the official radio partner of the March of Dimes' National Athletic Awards, is proud to present the 5th Annual Socrates Award to honor achievement by the best of our nation's student athletes. The Award is presented annually to the college athlete who best exemplifies excellence in athletics and academics.

Last year, the 4rd Annual Socrates Award was presented to Craig Krenzel of Ohio State. Mr. Krenzel exemplified the criteria of the Socrates Creed, which the Award embodies:

"Strong Mind in a Strong Body"

  • A student-athlete who has shown himself or herself to be a leader and quality contributor in their sport(s)
  • A student-athlete who has shown himself or herself to be an outstanding student academically
  • A student-athlete who has shown himself or herself to be a quality citizen in their community

    Vote for the 2004 Socrates Award!

    YOU CAN VOTE for this year's Socrates Award winner! Take a moment or two to learn more about this year's group of student-athletes nominated by Sporting News Radio and college sports information directors around the country.

    Then tell us which nominee listed above you think best embodies the ideals of the Socrates Award listed above. Your vote will help determine who the 2004 Socrates Award winner will be.

    Previous Socrates Award winners include:
    2000 - Drew Brees, Purdue
    2001 - Ben Hamilton, Minnesota
    2002 - André Davis, Virginia Tech
    2003 - Craig Krenzel, Ohio State

    The 16th Annual National Athletic Awards

    Sporting News Radio's 5th Annual Socrates Award is proud to be part of the 16th Annual National Athletic Awards to benefit the March of Dimes Birth Defects Foundation. For well over a decade, these awards have used the stature of the some of the world's most inspirational athletes to advance the March of Dimes mission - saving babies.

    This year's Awards program promises to be bigger and better than ever before. The event will be held Tuesday, March 16, 2004 at the Historic Fox Theater in Detroit, MI.

    The March of Dimes
    Sporting News Radio's James Brown will return to emcee this year's event. The 16th Annual National Athletic Awards ceremony will once again be televised to millions of viewers across the country.

    For information on how to get tickets for the event, call (248) 359-1550, or write to March of Dimes, Southeast Michigan Chapter, 27600 Northwestern Hwy, Suite 150, Southfield, MI 48034.